The Resolution class, were the first ballistic missile submarines (SSBN) that entered into service with the Royal Navy. They were built to replace the RAF’s bombers as the nuclear deterrent force from 1968, because with development of long-range anti-aircraft missiles by the USSR, the vulnerability of bombers was clearly exposed. In addition, the cancellation of the UGM-48 Skybolt air launched ballistic missile made inevitable the replacement of the RAF in that role. Four Resolution submarines were built between 1964 and 1968. This SSBN class were armed with sixteen Polaris A3T submarine launched ballistic missiles (SLBM) as main armament. Polaris A3T missiles had a range of 4,600 km and carried a warhead with three MRVs of 200kt each. The missile was of American origin, but the agreement reflected that the missile’s warhead would be developed by Great Britain. In 1982 the warhead was replaced by another one designated as Chevaline, consisting of 2 MRVs of 225 kt each, much more accurate and resistant to ECMs. The missiles armed with this warhead were designated as the Polaris A3 TK missile. The Resolution class was withdrawn between 1992 and 1996, being replaced by Vanguard class SSBN since 1994.

RESOLUTION class gallery and more info


Información adicional

Ficha Completa
Country of origin

United Kingdom


Vickers Shipbuilding – Cammell Laird and Company


Ballistic missile nuclear powered submarine

Entered service




Displacement, (full load)

Surfaced: 7,500 tonnes – Submerged: 8,400 tonnes

Dimensions (length x beam x draught)

129.50 x 10.10 x 9.10 meters

Power plant

1 x Rolls-Royce PWR1 pressurized water cooled reactor, 2 geared steam turbines

Power, (total)

27,500 shp

Shafts - Screws

1 shaft – 1 screw


Surfaced: 20 knots (37 km/h) – Submerged: 25 knots (46 km/h)

Diving depth, (maximum)

300 meters


6 x 533mm torpedo tubes (with Tigerfish torpedoes)

SLBM launcher

16 x Polaris A3T/TK missiles


4 boats: Renown – Repulse – Resolution – Revenge