OSHIO class

In the mid-60s, Japan put into service the first oceanic submarines built after WWII. They were the Oshio class, composed by five boats with the names: SS-561 Oshio, SS-562 Asashio, SS-563 Harushio, SS-564 Michishi and SS-565 Arashio that entered service between 1965 and 1968. The names they referred to different types of tides and although the five boats belonged to the same class, the SS-561 Oshio is sometimes classified as a different class because it has a completely different shaped bow and more simple sonar equipment than the others. They had eight 533mm torpedo tubes for Mk.14 or Mk.37 American torpedo types, six in the bow and two in the stern. These submarines were installed a special equipment so they could exercise as “targets” in ASW maneuvers. The five boats were decommissioned between 1981 and 1986.

OSHIO class gallery and more info


Información adicional

Ficha Completa
Country of origin



Mitsubishi Heavy Industries


Submarine (conventional propulsion)

Entered service




Displacement, (full load)

Surfaced: 1,625 tonnes – Submerged: 2,235 tonnes

Dimensions (length x beam x draught)

87.80 x 8.20 x 4.60 meters

Power plant

2 x Kawasaki V8V24 diesel engines, 1,450 hp each + 2 x 1650K electric motors, 3,150 hp each

Power, (total)

2,900 hp + 6,300 hp

Shafts - Screws

2 shafts – 2 screws


Surfaced: 14 knots (26 km/h) – Submerged: 18 knots (33 km/h)

Diving depth, (maximum)

150 meters


9,000 n. miles (16,650 km) at 10 knots


8 x 533mm torpedo tubes, (6 at bow, 2 at stern) (with Mk.14 or Mk.37 torpedoes)


5 boats: Arashio – Asashio – Harushio – Michishi – Oshio